Updated 2026-10-25 · Prices in CAD · Recall feed checked daily
🇨🇦 Canada
🇨🇦 Canada · checked 2026-10-25

Compare Canadian pet insurance terms

8 insurers, 19 terms each, every one checked against the insurer’s own pages and linked to the page it came from. Grey means we could not verify it; it does not mean the insurer lacks it.

Terms change. Check the insurer’s policy before buying. We show no prices here: premiums depend on your pet, age and postcode, and no insurer states one we could cite.

TermDesjardins Insurance (Desjardins Pet Insurance program)
Checked 2026-10-25
Review
Fetch Pet Insurance
Checked 2026-10-25
Review
Furkin
Checked 2026-10-25
Review
Pets Plus Us
Checked 2026-10-25
Review
Petsecure
Checked 2026-10-25
Review
PHI Direct (Pet Health Insurance Direct)
Checked 2026-10-25
Review
Sonnet Insurance (Sonnet Pet Insurance)
Checked 2026-10-25
Review
Spot Pet Insurance Canada
Checked 2026-10-25
Review
UnderwriterPetline Insurance Company (Compagnie d'assurance Petline) sourceAXIS Reinsurance Company (Canadian Branch) sourceGPIC Insurance Company (sold by Canada Pet Health Insurance Services, Inc. dba Furkin) sourceNorthbridge General Insurance Corporation sourcePetline Insurance Company sourceGPIC Insurance Company sourcePetline Insurance Company (not Sonnet Insurance Company) sourceNorthbridge General Insurance Corporation source
Deductible typeannual sourceNot verifiedannual sourceannual sourceone fixed annual deductible per policy period, rising as the pet ages sourceannual sourceannual sourceannual source
Deductible optionsDogs 0 to 4 years: $100, Dogs 5 to 9 years: $250, Dogs 10+ years: $350, Cats 0 to 4 years: $100, Cats 5 to 9 years: $150, Cats 10+ years: $200 sourceNot verifiedThree options (A/B/C). Dogs under 5: $100 / $300 / $750, Dogs 5 to 10: $300 / $500 / $950, Dogs over 10: $500 / $700 / $1,150, Cats under 5: $100 / $300 / $750, Cats 5 to 10: $200 / $400 / $850, Cats over 10: $300 / $500 / $950 sourceDogs: $100, $200 or $300 (ages 0-5); $300, $400 or $500 (ages 5-10), Cats: $100, $200 or $300 (ages 0-5); $200, $300 or $400 (ages 5-10) sourceNot verified$200 sourceNot verifiedNot verified
ReimbursementUp to 80% headline; plan-specific percentages not stated sourceup to 90% source80% of eligible costs (owner pays the other 20%) source70%, 80%, 90% sourcestarts at 80%; can drop to 70%, 60% or 50% after claims review source80% sourceUp to 80% of the vet bill sourceup to 90% back, depends on pet age at enrollment and renewal source
Annual limitvaries by plan: Bronze $2,000 per illness and $2,000 per accident per year; Silver $4,000 each; Gold unlimited illness and accident sourceNot verified$20,000 per year, less any deductible source$7,500, $15,000 sourceper condition and per accident: $1,000 (Secure 1), $2,500 (Secure 2), $5,000 (Secure 3), unlimited (Secure 4) source$5,000, $10,000 sourceIllness $2,500 per condition per year; accident $2,500 per accident; dental $300 per year; alternative therapy $350 per year; medical devices $350 per year sourceNot verified
Waiting period: accidents48 hours sourcenone source48 hours source48 hours source48 hours source48 hours source48 hours sourceNot verified
Waiting period: illness14 days sourceup to 15 days source14 days source14 days source14 days source14 days source14 days sourceNot verified
Waiting period: orthopedic6 months for cruciate ligament injuries and intervertebral disc disease sourceNot verified180 days for cruciate / knee conditions sourceNot verified6 months for cruciate ligament and intervertebral disc disease source60 days (cruciate ligament conditions) source6 months for cruciate ligament injuries and intervertebral disc disease sourceNot verified
Bilateral exclusionNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedpaired body parts count as one condition for exclusions and limits sourcebilateral or associated conditions not covered; treated as pre-existing in later years sourceNot verifiedNot verified
Exam fees coveredNot verifiedyes, sick-visit exam fees are covered sourceYes, sick-visit exam fees covered with taxes, for an eligible accident or illness sourceNot verifiedcovered at the plan's reimbursement rate, including taxes sourceyes, exam fees covered (including sick visit exams) sourceYes, covered as part of the vet bill reimbursement (up to 80%) sourcevet exam fees listed under accident and illness coverage source
Curable pre-existing conditionsNot verifiedcurable pre-existing conditions covered; other pre-existing conditions not covered sourceNot verifiedNot verifiedpre-existing conditions excluded; no curable-condition exception stated sourceNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verified
Pays the vet directlyNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiednot standard; insurer can sometimes pay the vet directly in extenuating circumstances sourceNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verified
Dental illnessYearly cleaning and tooth and gum problems covered. Dental limit: Bronze $500 (optional add-on), Silver $700, Gold $1,000 sourceinjury and disease in all adult teeth covered; no dental sublimit sourceDental tooth fractures covered for eligible accidents and illnesses sourcedental care excluded sourceannual dental limits $200 (Secure 1), $300 (Secure 2), $400 (Secure 3), $600 (Secure 4); dental waiting period 6 months sourcedental tooth fracture covered; routine dental not covered sourceCovered when needed due to illness or trauma, including cleanings and tooth or gum problems, up to the $300 yearly dental limit sourceNot verified
Hereditary conditionsNot verifiedbreed-linked hereditary conditions covered sourceCovered, subject to certain sub-limits sourcecovered sourceNot verifiedbreed-specific conditions covered sourceNot verifiedcovered under accident and illness, including hip dysplasia source
Wellness add-onPreventive care included in Gold plan only sourceoptional add-on covering annual exams, vaccines, spay/neuter, dental cleaning, parasite prevention sourceNot currently available sourceRoutine Wellness up to $260/year; Advanced Wellness up to $530/year sourceSecure 4 only; $450 or $350 listed, species not specified sourceNot verifiedNot verifiedSpot Preventive Care: routine dental, spaying/neutering, flea and heartworm prevention source
Multi-pet discount10% off with 3 or more pets; 15% off with 6 or more pets sourceNot verified5% automatic discount when insuring more than one pet sourceNot verifiedNot verified5% when a second pet is added sourceNot verified5% for two pets, 10% for three or more source
Provinces not coveredNot verifiedprogram not available in New Brunswick and Quebec sourceQuebec, Nunavut sourceNot verifiedNot verifiednot available in Quebec or Nunavut sourceNot offered outside BC, AB, ON, QC, NB, NS and PEI (per home page) sourcenot available in Quebec source
Money-back periodNot verifiedNot verified30 days from the policy start date sourceNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verified
How claims workSubmit through the client portal, by email, or by mail. Claims and service phone line: 1-855-343-9393 sourcepay the vet, photograph paid invoice and medical records, submit in the Fetch app; paid by direct deposit sourceSee the vet and pay the bill, then file a claim (the vet office can also send it in). Reimbursement goes by direct deposit. Claims filing deadline not stated. sourcePay vet in full, submit online portal, email, mail or fax; average 15-20 calendar days; paid by direct deposit or cheque sourceget claim form, pay vet in full, vet completes its section, send form by email, fax or mail; 6 months from treatment to claim sourceNot verifiedPay the vet in full, get the claim form (from your account or the vet), then send the form and receipts by online upload, email or mail. Filing deadline: 6 months after treatment. sourceVisit any licensed vet in Canada or US, pay the bill, submit claim online, by fax or email for cash back source

Not in the table

Insurer pages are written for marketing and change without notice. Where a page and the policy wording disagree, the policy wording wins. See how we make money and our editorial policy.